Skip navigation

FIL – Fédération Internationale de Luge de Course

An Umbrella Organization for all Luge Sports

The International Luge Federation (FIL) is officially recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the world federation of the sport of luge. The FIL is the sole international representative of the interests of the sport of luge. It is the highest authority in all concerns that regard the sport, and also the host of the world championships. The FIL currently has 52 member countries.


A Swiss premiere

The luge only started to gain popularity as a piece of sporting equipment in the 19th century. The first luge race with international participants took place in 1883, in Davos, Switzerland. From the beginning of the 1950s, the popularity of luge sports as a winter sports discipline started to increase. It was becoming increasingly recognized as a truly original winter sports discipline, even on an international level.

Treading a fine line

Success in this sport is achieved by mastering the athleticism of the start, having a high degree of courage and willingness to take risks, having the sensitivity required to really “feel” the driving dynamics, and the correct adjustment of the luge material to the track and weather conditions. Needless to say, the courage and skill of the pilot is also important.


Heated ambition

As an event closely tied to winter, ice, freezing temperatures, and top class performances, it shouldn’t really come as a surprise that Eberspächer has been actively supporting luge races as a partner since 2001/2002. The topic of winter sports and their high requirements of man and material, but also in terms of ethics and fair play, is apt, and not only for our innovative pre-heaters.


Gallery

Zum Inhalt springen

FIL – Fédération Internationale de Luge de Course

Dachverband für alle Rodelsportarten

Der internationale Rennrodelverband (FIL) ist der vom Internationalen Olympischen Komitee (IOC) anerkannte Weltverband des Rennrodelsports. Die FIL ist alleiniger Vertreter des internationalen Rennrodelsports und vertritt die Interessen des Rennrodelsports weltweit. Sie ist die oberste Behörde in allen Fragen, die den Rennrodelsport betreffen und Ausrichter des Rennrodel-Weltcups. Aktuell zählt die FIL 52 Mitgliedsländer. 


Schweizer Premiere

Als Sportgerät gewann der Schlitten erst im 19. Jahrhundert zunehmend an Popularität. Das erste Schlittenrennen mit internationaler Beteiligung ereignete sich 1883 im schweizerischen Davos. Ab Anfang der 1950er Jahre entwickelte sich der Rodelsport zunehmend zu einem populären Wintersportvergnügen und wurde auch auf internationaler Ebene immer mehr als eigenständige Wintersportart wahrgenommen.

Auf schmalem Grat

Die Athletik am Start, ein hohes Maß an Mut und Risikobereitschaft, das gewisse Feingefühl für die Fahrdynamik und die richtige Abstimmung des Schlittenmaterials auf die jeweils vorherrschenden Bahn- und Witterungsverhältnisse sind für den sportlichen Erfolg ausschlaggebend. Und natürlich der Mut und das Können der Piloten.


Warm ums Herz

Winter, Eis, Kälte, Höchstleistungen – da wundert es nicht, dass Eberspächer bereits seit der Saison 2001/2002 das Rennrodeln aktiv als Partner unterstützt. Nicht nur für unsere innovativen Standheizungen ist das Thema Wintersport mit seinen hohen Anforderungen an Mensch und Material – aber auch an Ethik und Fairplay – mehr als geeignet.


Galerie