Skip navigation

Boris Herrmann

One Man and his Sailboat

Boris Hermann has already partaken in the world’s most difficult regattas, and is German extreme sailing’s most promising figure. In 2009, he won the Portimão Global Ocean Race with his co skipper Felix Oehme, and was named the fastest sailor in the world by Yacht Magazine. His next competition was the Barcelona World Race in 2011. After exactly 100 days of racing, Boris Herrmann crossed the finishing line of the regatta on his NEUTROGENA sailboat. In 2015, Boris passed the NE passage on the “Qingdao China” trimaran without a single stop. This was the first time that a ship had ever made it through the freezing Arctic Ocean without stopping and by only using sails. In 2020, Boris will be the first German to take part in the highly prestigious Vendée Globe regatta, sailing on his “Malizia II” yacht.


Around the world in 80 days

Boris Herrmann has been dreaming of sailing around the world, all by himself, ever since he was a child. He’s sailed around the globe three times now, but never on his own, and never without making stops. This is meant to change in 2020, when the 37-year-old will enter the race of his life: The highly prestigious Vendée Globe, which is known as the hardest single-handed regatta in the world. It begins on the French Atlantic Coast, with a route leading through every ocean and then back again.

Staying dry and warm

It takes sailing skills, courage and plenty of experience to withstand the forces of nature on your own – of course, all of these things are useless if your technology fails you: “If anything breaks that I can’t replace or repair myself on board, the race is over.” Boris Herrmann also knows the importance of an effective marine heater for competitive success. “It is always dry and warm below deck, even in extreme weather conditions with large temperature differences, constant dampness and wet clothing.”


The importance of clean oceans

Besides being successful in his sport, the man from Lower Saxony also cares a great deal about the environment. He uses a special sensor attached to his ship to collect data for climate research while sailing. “I’d like to accomplish more as a high sea regatta professional than just get from point A to B as fast as possible,” explains Boris, who also shares his sailing adventures with children in the course of a school project to sensitize them to the topic of climate change. “We have to treat the water, our element, with great care and make sure that future generations understand and internalize the importance of clean oceans.”

Website Boris Herrmann

Special marine

Zum Inhalt springen

Boris Herrmann

Ein Mann – ein Segelboot

Er hat die härtesten Regatten der Welt bestritten: Boris Herrmann, der derzeit wohl hellste Stern am deutschen Extremseglerhimmel. 2009 gewann er mit Co-Skipper Felix Oehme das Portimão Global Ocean Race und wurde vom Yacht Magazin als schnellster Segler der Welt gefeiert. 2011 folgte das Barcelona World Race. Auf seinem Segelboot NEUTROGENA überquerte Boris Herrmann nach exakt 100 Tagen die Ziellinie der Regatta. 2015 hat Boris auf dem Trimaran „Qingdao China“ nonstop die Nordost-Passage bewältigt. Es war das erste Mal, dass ein Schiff nonstop und nur mit Hilfe von Segeln den Weg durch das eiskalte Nordpolarmeer zurücklegte. Mit seiner Yacht „Malizia II“ will Boris 2020 als erster Deutscher an der prestigeträchtigen Vendée Globe teilnehmen.


In 80 Tage um die Welt

Einmal um die Welt segeln. Ganz allein. Davon hat Boris Herrmann schon als kleiner Junge geträumt. Dreimal hat er mittlerweile den Globus umrundet, aber noch nie als Solist und nonstop. Das soll sich 2020 ändern, wenn der 37-Jährige in das Rennen seines Lebens startet: Die prestigeträchtige Vendée Globe gilt als härteste Einhand-Regatta der Welt und führt ohne Zwischenstopp von der französischen Atlantikküste einmal über alle Ozeane und zurück.

Trocken und warm bleiben

Seglerisches Können, Mut und Erfahrung sind nötig im einsamen Kampf gegen die Naturgewalten - allerdings nutzlos, wenn die Technik versagt: „Wenn irgendetwas kaputtgeht, was ich nicht austauschen oder selbst reparieren kann an Bord, dann ist das Rennen für mich zu Ende." Und Boris Herrmann weiß auch, wie wichtig eine wirkungsvolle Marineheizung für den sportlichen Erfolg ist: „Selbst bei extremer Witterung mit großen Temperaturunterschieden, ständiger Feuchtigkeit und nasser Kleidung bleibt es unter Deck trocken und warm.“


Bedeutung sauberer Meere

Für den Niedersachsen steht indes nicht nur der sportliche Erfolg, sondern auch die Umwelt im Fokus. So sammelt sein Schiff unterwegs über einen speziellen Sensor wertvolle Daten für die Klimaforschung. „Als Hochseeregattaprofi will ich mehr tun, als einfach nur so schnell wie möglich von A nach B zu segeln“, erklärt Boris, der zudem Kinder bei einem Schulprojekt an seinen Segelabenteuern teilhaben lässt , um sie so für das Thema Klimawandel zu sensibilisieren: „Wir müssen mit unserem Element sorgsam umgehen und dafür sorgen, dass der Nachwuchs die Bedeutung sauberer Meere versteht und verinnerlicht“.

Website Boris Herrmann

Special Marine